<p><strong>Arlington, Va. &ndash; </strong>The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation today announced the recipients of the annual Pharmacy Student Scholarship Awards.&nbsp; The NACDS Foundation awarded scholarships &ndash; totaling $30,000 &ndash; to six high-caliber pharmacy students.&nbsp; </p>
<p>The NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Student Scholarship Program identifies and recognizes the next generation of pharmacy leaders during their pursuit of academic success and educational goals.</p>
<p>The six NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Student Scholarship Awards were chosen to receive named-scholarships that honor distinguished pharmacy leaders and companies that share the NACDS Foundation&rsquo;s commitment to education, research and charitable work. The recipients are as follows:</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Mark Schiffmann of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy and Emily Swayka of Roosevelt University College of Pharmacy received the Leonard J. DeMino Pharmacy Student Scholarships.<strong></strong></p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Laura Vollmer of Drake University College of Pharmacy &amp; Health Sciences and Joshua Prostek of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy received the Taro Research Foundation Scholarships.<strong></strong></p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Delaram Bahmandar of Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Pharmacy and Ashley Kappenman of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy received the Teva Pharmaceuticals Robert J. Bolger Scholarships.<strong></strong></p>
<p>&ldquo;These students represent the future of pharmacy, and we applaud them for their academic accomplishments.&nbsp; Each exemplifies one of the key missions of the NACDS Foundation in supporting continuing education programs that focus on patient-centered care in the community pharmacy setting,&rdquo; said NACDS Foundation President Kathleen Jaeger.&nbsp; &ldquo;We are delighted to honor these exceptional students with scholarships to assist them in continuing their pharmacy education,&rdquo; said Jaeger.&nbsp;</p>