Arlington, Va. – With the inaugural participants in the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation Faculty Scholars Program concluding their year-long work, a new and expanded class of participants was named today to continue the program’s unique research focus.

Launched in 2012, the program educates assistant professors from U.S. schools and colleges of pharmacy about designing, implementing and publishing community pharmacy-based patient care research.

“This program proves once again that success flows from success,” said NACDS Foundation President Kathleen Jaeger. “By all accounts, the program in its first year has equipped participants to make an even greater difference in research to advance patient care and health outcomes. So, we are celebrating their accomplishments and expanding the program for its second year.”

The inaugural class included five faculty members, and the class announced today includes eight faculty members:

    • Meagan A. Brown, PharmD, BCACP, Clinical Assistant Professor, University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy
    • Jeannine M. Conway, PharmD, BCPS, Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy
    • Robert L. Maher, Jr., PharmD, CGP, Assistant Professor, Duquesne University School of Pharmacy
    • Lisa M. Meny, PharmD, Assistant Professor, Ferris State University College of Pharmacy
    • Anthony J. Pattin, PharmD, Clinical Assistant Professor, Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy
    • Nathan D. Pope, PharmD, Clinical Assistant Professor, University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy
    • LaNell G. Staroba, PharmD, Assistant Professor, North Dakota State University College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences
    • Stevie R. Veach, PharmD, BCACP, Assistant Professor, University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.

The initiative’s educational programming was designed in collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh, and the Program will continue to benefit from the leadership of Dr. Melissa Somma McGivney and Dr. Kim C. Coley.

Through the Program, each scholar will participate in advanced educational opportunities through in-person meetings, regular conference calls, individualized mentoring, web-based lecture material, and online discussion forums. The scholars will engage in peer-to-peer review, receiving support from an experienced network of researchers nationwide. They will also be eligible to receive a research grant to launch a community pharmacy-based patient-centered care project.

The inaugural class will complete its work when it convenes at the 2013 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Annual Meeting. The second class will begin its work in August when it meets in conjunction with the 2013 NACDS Total Store Expo.