<p><strong><br />
<p><strong>Arlington, Va. </strong>&ndash; The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation today announced the participants for the <a href="https://www.nacdsfoundation.org/pdfs/2014-2015_Faculty_Scholars_Program.pdf">2014-2015 Faculty Scholars Program</a>. Eight faculty members from pharmacy schools and colleges nationwide have been selected as members of this year&rsquo;s class to complete the educational program designed in collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh, under the leadership of Dr. Melissa Somma McGivney and Dr. Kim Coley.</p>
<p>In its third year, the NACDS Foundation Faculty Scholars program is designed to educate junior faculty at U.S. pharmacy schools and colleges of pharmacy about effective and meaningful community pharmacy-based patient care research.&nbsp; The program also seeks to connect the Faculty Scholars with community pharmacy and research experts nationally to add to the diversity of their education.</p>
<p>"We are excited to have this group of highly-qualified pharmacy professors as the 2014-2015 NACDS Foundation Faculty Scholars,&rdquo; said NACDS Foundation President Kathleen Jaeger. "We are confident that they will provide meaningful contributions to the advancement of patient care, while enhancing their research skills to further the greater goal of improving public health."</p>
<p>The professors of pharmacy who have been awarded this year&rsquo;s distinction are:</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Allison M. Dering-Anderson, PharmD, RPh, FASCP, Clinical Assistant Professor, University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Andrea Fass, PharmD, Assistant Professor, Nova Southeastern University</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Ashley Earley, PharmD, BCACP, Assistant Professor, Harding University College of Pharmacy</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Kenneth C. Hohmeier, PharmD, Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Mark A. Della Paolera, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP, Assistant Professor, Pacific University School of Pharmacy</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Michell Butler, PharmD, Clinical Assistant Professor, Mercer University College of Pharmacy</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Nicole D. White, PharmD, Assistant Professor, Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Health Professions</p>
<p style="text-indent: -0.25in;">&middot;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Sharon Rush, RPh, Assistant Clinical Professor, University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy.</p>
<p>Each Faculty Scholar will identify a research mentor and small working group at his or her own college or school of pharmacy to foster interactive discussion and peer critique to assist with project development.&nbsp; Each will also receive a research grant to launch a patient-focused research project conducted in a community pharmacy setting.&nbsp;</p>
<p>This year-long program will utilize a variety of teaching methods including web-based lecture content, online discussion forums, regular conference call discussions, individual mentoring and live meetings &ndash; including the class&rsquo; first in-person meeting in August at the 2014 NACDS Total Store Expo in Boston, Massachusetts. </p>
<p>&ldquo;We are thrilled to foster research by junior faculty and provide them with a wealth of resources, including the opportunity to obtain expert advice from experienced researchers and engage in peer-to-peer review,&rdquo; said Jaeger.</p>